West Virginia and Kentucky

States: West Virginia Abandoned Factory and Whirlygig ©2001
States: West Virginia
Abandoned Factory and Whirlygig
©2001    Karen J. Stinnett

I’m looking to photograph light for painting reference and it rained most of the time I was passing through West Virginia and Kentucky. Light defines what I see, the way a spotlight does, and changes the structure of things. I know I miss things when there is no direct light. Still the leaves are changing so there was some brilliant color anyway.  I look for altered landscapes, signs, barns and trailers.  West Virginia: Abandoned Factory and Whirlygig was the first painting in this series.

My first visit to Kentucky was with my parents when I was in high school. The trip was centered around meeting my hero, Secretariat. When I was looking for Kentucky images for this series I chose Secretariat’s barn.

Kentucky: Secretariat's Barn oil on panel  16x20 ©2008
States:  Kentucky: Secretariat’s Barn
oil on panel 16×20
©2008     Karen J. Stinnett

image image

Cash in Kentucky
Cash in Kentucky
Leave a Reply

